Alana Davies

My Writing - a Hobby and a Passion!

I have always written - short stories, verses, articles - and some very bad poetry as a teenager. But writing nevertheless. Some of my jobs have involved the written word too, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Having retired (for the third time), I enrolled on a Creative Writing course with the Open University, and since then I have written a novel, a collection of poems and short stories, and volume 1 of my 'memory books' - nothing so grand that it deserves the title of 'Memoir'! 

Sometimes I write under the name Alana Davies-Jones, and sometimes another pen-name, for a variety of reasons.

As well as writing books, I publish them, using  the name Awduresau Publishing. I have also published books for others, including my late husband.  All available on Amazon!

The Making of Annie-May


Elizabeth Hardie-Jones

This is a love story, a family saga, and something of a social and political history.

Anya is a young woman whose life is changed by circumstances beyond her control. The story is set in the 1980s and 90s, but takes us on a journey back as far as the 1930s, to give us an understanding of the background of some of the people in Anya’s life. In 1980s south Wales, with all its turbulence, she is confronted with attitudes she finds unacceptable, and with realities she had never considered before. She is shown ways she can make a difference, not only to her own life, but to the lives of others.

This is an account of the making of a confident, self-assured woman from a pliable and naïve girl, a development that sometimes causes her pain, but helps her to stand up for others, and to question her principles and her beliefs, but never the love of her family. 

My Lovely Arms


Alana Davies-Jones

Here is an account of the first eleven years of my life. And some background material about my parents. Nothing more. It doesn’t pretend to be a great literary work, a suspenseful novel or a searching philosophical prose.

While my childhood involves poverty, illness and domestic abuse, it was also full of laughter and fun, and my intention is not to produce a dark and depressing piece of work, but to give an honest account of my life. 

This will mainly be of interest to my family. And maybe to some old friends. Or even to historians. I hope you may find a sentence or two that brings a smile of recognition, or a tear for what’s been lost.

My Lovely Arms : Volume 2


Alana Davies- Jones

(a work in progress)

This second book covers the ten years from 1959, when I was aged 11, to 1969. Grammar school, youth clubs, college, boyfriends. The swinging sixties? Wait and see ..

Short Stories, Shorter Verse


Alana Davies-Jones

Here is a collection of pieces, written over many years, now brought together. 

If readers have a feeling of déjà vu in looking through these stories, that may be because there is an overlap between these and the series of my little books of memories, My Lovely Arms.  Many, but not all, of these short stories are based loosely on my memories, but have been packaged into a beginning, middle and end, so are not factual accounts.

I hope these stories evoke memories that you thought had gone, and that the verses give pause for thought, or raise a smile.

Sharing experiences

I have been privileged to take part in some writing workshops. These workshops can give confidence to new writers, especially young people. Sharing the excitement, the worries and the pure joy of putting pen to paper - or the laptop equivalent - is something to cherish.

Mathematics for Engineers by Brian Davies

Edited by A E Davies

I edited this book by my husband Brian and published it in his memory, following his death in 2018, as 'a gift for his daughters, his grandchildren, and some special friends'.

This is a book that may be useful for any student studying not only Engineering but a range of courses or none, in that it covers a number of mathematical areas which often require revision and/or additional explanation, examples and solutions.

The Weird and Wonderful World of R W Prosser

RW Prosser allows us a peep into his literary world. This is a small collection of rhymes, poems and stories, mainly for children but perhaps not all; a few dark ones, a couple of romantic pieces too. But always thought-provoking.

The Tale of Smiler


R W Prosser

R W Prosser writes ‘silly stories’ that children love.

Everyone knows that spiders have eight legs – don’t they? Well not Smiler. He has six legs, but that doesn’t stop him from having fun, fighting those who want to hurt him, falling in love and having lots of children.

Smiler is not in the least scary, and perhaps he can help all of us to remember just how many legs spiders – other spiders – really have.